MYRTLE GROVE BAPTIST CHURCH  5920 Lillian Highway, Pensacola, FL 32506 -- 850-455-7389 MINUTES OF THE REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING ON August 24, 2016 The   Regular   Business   Meeting   was   held   on   August   24,   2016,   at   6:00   pm.      The   meeting   was   held   in   the   fellowship hall and was opened in prayer. CLERK’S   BUSINESS:      Bonnie   Quinley   presented   the   minutes   of   the   July   20,   2016,   Regular   Business   Meeting   as printed   in   the   August   Business   Meeting   package.         Motion   to   approve   by   Paul   Sauls   and   seconded   by   Keely   Zayas.     APPROVED by show of hands. Requests for letters of church membership :  For July:  From:  Olive Baptist Church, Pensacola, Florida, fpr the letters of Richard and Barbara Goldsby. Motion to approve by John Bonelli and seconded by Joe Cato.  APPROVED by show of hands. New members to be approved:  for July:   Profession of Faith:  None. Statement of Faith :  None, Letter:       Rachel   Tucker,   Robert   Tucker,   Glenda   Fillingim,   Eugene   Fillingim,   Jake   Knight,   Deborah   Knight,   and Ernestine Wiggins. Motion to approve by Joe Cato and seconded by Tony McFarlane.  APPROVED by show of hands. TREASURER'S   REPORT:      Richard   Main   presented   the   Financial   Report   for   July   as   presented   in   the   August   Business Meeting package.  Motion   to   approve   the   financial   report   presented   for   July   was   made   by   Gene   Mitchell   and   seconded   by   Burt Lampley.  APPROVED by show of hands.  Comment:      I   have   a   correction   to   be   made   on   the   Financial   Statement.      There   was   a   transposition   in   numbers   on the   monthly   expenses   paid   in   July.      That   figure   should   be   $68,843.91.      It   was   just   a   transposition   of   numbers.      It gives our excess in July of $14,000, which is accurate.  All the other figures are correct.  COMMITTEE REPORTS:   None.  NEW BUSINESS:  Election   of   2017   Deacons/Yokefellows   by   secret   ballot.      Paul   Sauls   presented   ballots   for   voting   on   the   election of   20017   Deacons/Yokefellows   which   will   be   for   a   three   year   term.      The   candidates   presented   for   approval   are Kent   Brock,   Deacon,   Chris   Gay,   Yokefellow,   Chuck   Keistler,   Deacon,   Roland   Koomen,   Yokefellow,   Ricky   Lake, Yokefellow,    Tony    McFarlane,    Deacon,    Randy    Petuchov,    Deacon,    Norman    Robertson,    Yokefellow,    and    Ray Winstead, Yokefellow.  The vote was  unamiously APPROVED  for all candidates.  Comment:      Pastor   Ron   Lentine   stated   that   Ray   Winstead   is   the   only   candidate   who   needs   to   be   commissioned   as a Yokefellow.  Preschool   Learning   Center   (PLC)   Committee:      Mary   Ann   Winstead   presented   a   recommendation   in   response   to recommendations    from    the    Escambia    County    Sheriffs    department's    security    survey.            The    PLC    Committee recommends   the   installation   of   a   security   lock   system   for   the   main   entrance   of   the   FLC   and   the   entrance   leading ton   to   the   playground.      Additional   locks   on   the   classroom   doors   will   be   installed   at   a   later   date.      APPROVED   by show of hands.  Nominating   Committee:      Chris   Larsen   presented   the   2016-2017   Booklet   of   Workers   for   adoption.      This   is   mainly for    our    church    officers    and    Sunday    school    teachers    and    officers    as    well.        This    booklet    is    not    for    church committees.      We   do   have   a   couple   of   vacancies   one   in   Adult   6   Ladies   Department   and   teachers   on   a   rotational basis   once   a   month   in   our   Special   Education   Department.      We   want   to   recognize   Brunette   Williams   and   Helen Bradshaw who are retiring from a long term of teaching.  APPROVED by show of hands.  Deacons    Committee:        Pastor    Ron    Lentine    presented    a    recommendation    from    the    Committee    to    move    the Sunday,   September   11,   2016,   evening   service   to   Warrington   First   Baptist   Church.      This   will   be   for   our   prayers   for the   nation.      Motion   to   approve   by   Joe   Cato   and   seconded   by   Randy   Petuchov.      APPROVED   by   show   of   hands.     The church address will be printed in the  b Committee   on   Committees:      Joe   Cato   presented   recommendations   to   fill   Committee   vacancies.      There   are   no recommendations for the committees left blank.  We are still trying to fill those positions.  Question:      Carolyn   Gramlich:      How   long   do   you   have   to   be   a   member   of   the   church   to   be   considered   for committee membership? Answer:  Joe Cato:  One year. Question:      Mary   Ann   Winstead:      Did   you   decide   not   to   put   Freddie   Zayas   under   the   Pre-School   Learning   Center Committee?  Answer:  Joe Cato:  No, add Freddie Zayas to the Pre-School Learning Center Committee. Question:      Diana   McFarlane:      For   then   House   and   Grounds   Committee,   it   says   Kent   Brock   as   chair   but   has   rotate off in 2016.   Is he staying on the committee? Answer:  Joe Cato:  No, he will be rotating off.  This is another vacancy to fill.  Comment:      Joe   Cato:      Where   there   are   committees   where   no   names   are   listed   does   not   mean   that   they   do   not have   members.      We   are   trying   to   organize   this   so   we   can   call   it   up   and   actually   see   what   we   have.      Right   now   we have three or four different forms.  A complete list will be provided. Motion APPROVED by show of hands.  By-Laws    Committee:    Jim    Gramlich    presented    an    update    to    the    Myrtle    Grove    Baptist    Church    accounting procedures for approval.  The changes are highlighted.  APPROVED by show of hands.      ANNOUNCEMENTS:   Melita   Brantley   announced   the   Caregiver's   Support   Group   Meeting   will   be   held   in   the Fellowship Hall on Thursday, August 25, 2016, at 9am. ADJOURNMENT:      Motion   to   adjourn   by   Tony   McFarlane   and   seconded   by   Paul   Sauls.      APPROVED    by   show   of hands.    _____________________________ ____________________________